Review of “Amish Cooking Class: The Seekers” by Wanda E. Brunstetter

img_0237

I have always loved reading books about the Amish, and after was thrilled for the opportunity to review this book.  We spent several years in central Pennsylvania and frequented two different farms with Amish produce along with an Amish run store.  So everything about the Amish interests me.

This is the story of an Amish woman named Heidi Troyer who decides to teach a series of cooking classes to individuals in her home.  Heidi and her husband have been unable to have children so she believes teaching these classes will help her pass the time.  It is the first of a series of books by Wanda E. Brunstetter.

Several individuals sign up for the class including an Amish man named Eli Miller, whose wife died and who is friends with the Troyers.  Charlene Higgins, an engaged woman, wants to learn how to cook to hopefully improve relations with her future in-laws. Loretta Donnelly, a widowed mother, who wishes to simplify her life for her and her children.  Kendra Perkins, a pregnant teen, has been kicked out of her home by her parents due to the pregnancy.  She thinks learning to cook will be a way of passing time.  Finally, Ron Hensley, a Vietnam vet, parks his motor home on the Troyers’ property with nefarious intentions.

I love the character development in this book.  We get to know the characters and their families.  I felt drawn into the world and as though they were part of my own family.  The twists and turns of this book captivated my interest.  I also found myself laughing, crying and rooting for various characters in the book to achieve or find their heart’s desires.

The cooking classes definitely made me want to try the recipes.  Conveniently, the recipes are included in the back of the book.  I definitely plan on trying the recipes for myself.  I have a 16-year-old son who I described some of the recipes too and is looking forward to me fixing some for our family.

 

 

SaveSave

Leave a Reply

