2016 and My Words of the Year

946624_712114835591723_4239460225728508792_n

Today is day 4 of the Writing Project.  Due to life, I only wrote on one of my other blogs – truthandgracehomeschoolacademy.com .  Today, my email has been filled with post after post after post about setting goals, words of the year, or resolutions.  I decided last year not to do resolutions particularly because I don’t seem to follow through on them very well.  Then last year (meaning 2014), I came across the idea of choosing a word for the year, so that is what I did.  My main word for the year was create.

This year I decided to continue the practice of choosing a word for the year.  I wound up with 3 main words plus one that came by circumstances.  I am not one to particularly play games or click on the various posts that come up involving answering a series of questions to find out who or waht your are.  However, in the last few weeks of 2015 one came across my screen about what word would describe 2016 for me.  I clicked on the post, answered the questions and waited for my results to come up on the screen.  When the result was displayed, I had to laugh.  I was told my word should be “Change” – and given that we are in the midst of receiving orders to move from Pennsylvania to Texas – I think change is inevitable.  So “change” is my word that came by circumstances.

My other words for the year are:  Write (since I am participating in #Write365 and am working through some books on writing), create – since I want to continue my artistic and writing plans from last year, and finally delight because I want to delight in each day and every circumstance I find myself facing – including a move cross-country that we don’t have definite facts about yet.

wordsfor2016

I have chosen two life verses for this year.  The verses are:

I feel both of these verses suit my life at this time.  I want to work on creating things to bring glory to God’s Kingdom.  I want to spend time doing Bible Journaling, Art Journaling and learning to draw.  I want to delight in the life God has given me.  I want to bring honor and glory to Him.  I want to delight in spending time with God in reading Scriptures, in prayer and writing.  I feel God is calling me to something, so it is just a matter of determining what that calling is.

I would love to hear from you.  What is going on in your life  Do you choose to make resolutions or do you choose a word or theme for your new year?

Leave a Reply

