#31DaystoWrite – Scriptures of Faith Day 23 – Hebrews 11:6

12053173_10205096985840004_1576198073_n

Today is Day 23 of the #31DaystoWrite challenge.  It also day 23 of the NaBloPoMo and Ultimate Blog challenges for October 2015 and I am still posting.  I am really enjoying these challenges.  Even though our lives might be rather hectic right now, I am still enjoying posting.  Today’s Scripture is Hebrews 11:6 and here is a graphic for it.

Hebrews116But today is a very special day.  Seventeen years ago today, we gave birth to our second son.  As with our other children, we were induced – so that meant getting to the hospital around 6 am to check in.  Having an IV started.  It also meant having pitocin and all the fun of laying on my one side to help manage my blood pressure.  This time we unfortunately received a hurse who was a nightmare.  To begin with she stated there was no pre-certification pediatrician card in our file.  But mysteriously it reappeared when Lisa, Dennis’ sister-in-law offered to run across the street to the pediatrician’s office to get one (incredibly easy for her to do since she worked there).    Then, she just seemed to be lacking in the compassion and competence departments.

We really were not expecting to have a baby until sometime that afternoon.  So my husband left the hospital to go do a couple of vending locations (he and his father owned a vending business).  I was okay with this since he had a cell phone and we were just expecting things to go rather slowly.  Lisa, my coach and husband’s sister-in-law, settled in for the day with all her perfect plans in place on how the day would go – right down to what she was going to have for lunch.

But God  must have been looking down on us in favor, because another nurse happened to be walking by about the time our nurse was discussing pain medication with us, which happened somewhere around 9:30.  After the nightmare with our first son, I knew I did not want an epidural.  But the nurse was having difficulty believing me.  So the second nurse suggested they check me to see how I was progressing.  Then the second nurse brilliantly suggested having my doctor check me, as he was right down the hall.  So while he and the nurses were getting ready to check me, I looked at Lisa and said I felt like I was about to be sick.  She believed me and brought the basin to me.  Then I looked at her and said I felt like pushing instead.

Needless to say, things happened fast – the doctor and nurses moved quickly to get gowns and other protective items on, while setting up for the delivery.  I asked Lisa to call my husband back to the hospital (it was not even 10:30 yet).  But she could not remember his number even though I had wrote down all the important numbers for her.  So I had her hand me the phone and I called him myself.  At the same time, everyone was emphatically insisted I not push.  While that is easier said than done.  With just two quick pushes our second son entered the world before my husband could even make it back to the hospital.

Lisa ran out to get lunch for us all.  I want to say it was one of the best meals I ever tasted.  Part of it could have been from the thrill of having our second son with us.

As the years have gone by, he has been a tremendous blessing to our family.  He never asks for anything and will randomly come give me hugs just because.  So happy 17th birthday to my darling son Joseph.

Leave a Reply

