#31DaystoWrite – Day 11 – Scriptures of Faith – Ephesians 2:8

12053173_10205096985840004_1576198073_n

So today is day 11 of my Scriptures of Faith series.  Today I want to blog about Ephesians 2:8, which states:

Ephesians28This verse is another verse that my husband, an ordained Primitive Baptist preacher, frequently preaches from and I have heard spoken.  We are saved by faith through grace.  There is nothing we can do to receive salvation, especially in the forms of works.  We can not “earn” our way into heaven by either being “good enough” or by the works we do.  The only way we receive salvation is through a merciful and loving God that was willing to send His Son to die on the Cross for our sins.  It is truly a gift.  We need to embrace that gift and strive to be Christ-like in all we do.

There are times I find myself being anything but Christ-like, but I eventually am brought to my knees to pray for mercy and grace.  Because I have faith in the salvation granted by our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, I know by asking for forgiveness, I receive it.  I am so glad that the God I serve is not one who writes down every wrong I have ever done.  My God does not throw back in my face all my mistakes and bad choices.  Instead, He is a God that forgives and forgets.  Oh that I could be that way.  I die to self daily and recognize I need to aim to be more Christ-like.

So how are things where you are?  I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

