Day 5 – 31 Days to Write – Scriptures of Faith

12053173_10205096985840004_1576198073_n

So today is day 5 of the 31 Days to Write challenge. Here is the Scripture of Faith I would like to share with you today.

2 Timothy 1 7This Scripture truly goes along with everything that has happened over the past 10 days.  I would like to share a little more with you about our saga.

Yesterday, I began telling about our saga with my husband’s gall bladder attack.  I had just left the hospital to go home and get some things.  While I was gone, another doctor came to visit my husband.  This doctor was actually a medical student on the general medicine side.  She told my husband there was no reason he should have to stay another night.  So when I returned to the hospital, we had no idea of what was actually going to happen.  Eventually, the surgeon returned and stated that we were going to be discharged.  There were no clarifications or additional statements made.  To us, we thought that meant we would be leaving as soon as the nurse brought the paperwork, took out the IV and he got dressed.  At least an hour or two went by and nothing happened.  We saw no nurse or anyone else.  I was beginning to lose patience.

Eventually, a nurse came in to take my husband’s vital signs around 3:30.  At the same time, the on-duty hospital administrator came in to visit.  We explained to him that we were expecting to be discharged, so he said he would see what he could find out for us.  My husband’s nurse eventually came in and stated that the doctor wanted him to remain until after dinner so they could see how he tolerated food.  I commented it would have been nice if the doctor would have told us that.  This offended the nurse even more.  She was completely unprofessional and antagonistic towards me.  I asked what time I could expect to be able to take him home and she replied around 7 pm.  She then left the room.  In the meantime, my husband received a call from his mother in North Carolina.  At the same time, the nurse returned.  She told me my husband had three choices:  1) be discharged then; 2) stay until after dinner – meaning leave the hospital after 7 pm, or 3) get pain medication for a headache and have to remain for at least 30 minutes.  We opted to go home.

The nurse went to get the paperwork and the supplies needed to remove his IV.   She told him the doctor was giving us two prescriptions – an antibiotic and one for pain.  When I reached for the prescriptions so I would have them to take into the pharmacy, she actually threw them at me.  I was never so glad to get away from some place as I was to get away from there.

Leave a Reply

